Calus 17 Pro Max Price in Kenya: What You Are Buying (2026)

Brian OtienoTech Writer 11 Sep 2026 7 min read
Calus 17 Pro Max price in Kenya

A new Calus IP 17 Pro Max costs between KSh 11,900 and KSh 15,000 in Kenya. That was the spread across Jumia and Kilimall on 11 September 2026. For the money you get a large Android phone shaped and coloured like Apple's iPhone 17 Pro Max. You do not get an iPhone, and you should treat most of the spec sheet as the seller's claim until the phone in your hand proves it.

What it costs

WhereModel as listedPrice (KSh)
Jumia KenyaCalus IP 17 Pro Max, 512GB11,899 (down from 13,899)
Kilimall, 16 listingsCalus IP 17 Pro Max, 512GB12,969 to 14,999
Jumia KenyaCalus M17 Pro Max, 128GB9,999
Jumia KenyaCalus i17 Pro5,650
Jumia KenyaCalus 17 Air5,199 to 5,999

We checked these prices on 11 September 2026. Marketplace sellers change them often, so expect a thousand shillings either way.

Second hand, the only price we can point to is our own. One seller in Nairobi has a like-new 256GB model listed on Mzuri at KSh 9,000, three weeks after buying it. One listing tells you little about a market, but it suggests you lose a quarter or more of the price the day you open the box.

What the phone is

Calus belongs to a Shenzhen company founded in 2013. Its website says it sells two brands of its own, Samhe and Calus, through more than 1,000 outlets in Africa, Dubai and South America. It makes low-cost Android smartphones, button phones, power banks and CCTV cameras, and Jumia Kenya lists 116 Calus products.

The 17 Pro Max copies Apple's look. Sellers offer it in silver, orange and blue, the three colours of the iPhone 17 Pro. A Saudi retailer advertises it as the same size as the iPhone 17 Pro Max and says iPhone cases fit, and Kilimall sells cases "for Calus i17 pro max" that also fit the iPhone and carry Apple's logo. The phone runs Android. iPhone apps, iCloud and AirDrop will not work on it.

Read the specs as claims

The same name turns up with very different insides:

SellerRAM / storageNetworkMain camera
Jumia Kenya8GB / 512GB5G50MP
Kilimall (i17 Pro Max)8GB / 256GBNot stated48MP
A Saudi retailer4GB / 64GB4GNot stated

No 17 Pro Max listing we found names the processor. The Mzuri seller's listing gives the screen as 720 × 1600 pixels across 6.9 inches, about 254 pixels per inch. Apple's iPhone 17 Pro Max fits 2868 × 1320 into the same size, close to twice the sharpness. We found no teardown or benchmark of any Calus smartphone either, so we cannot tell you the chip, the real storage or the camera sensors.

That leaves you to check it yourself. Before you hand over money, open Settings, About phone and read the model code, Android version and RAM. Then open Settings, Storage and compare the total with the box. If the numbers disagree with the listing, walk away.

Is it approved in Kenya?

On 10 February 2026 the Communications Authority of Kenya named 21 phone brands that it said lacked type approval and could not be sold. Calus was not one of them. The Authority's director general named some of the brands and added "and others", so a brand's absence from the list does not mean the Authority has cleared it.

The Authority publishes a list of every type-approved device. Its August 2026 edition, published in September, includes ten Calus models from Shenzhen Calus Technology, with codes such as T5627 and T5362. Those two are button phones on sale in Kenya. No model called 17 Pro Max, IP 17, i17 or M17 appears on the list. The list gives model names only, so the Authority could have approved this phone under a code we cannot match. We could not confirm it either way.

Two more facts belong in front of you, and we draw no conclusion from them. The same August list names Shenzhen Calus Technology as the maker of three Q-Seven phones, and Q-Seven was one of the 21 brands in February. And the Calus website now gives its company name as Shenzhen Momofly Technology Co., Ltd. Momofly was also on the February list.

The Authority has announced no action against Calus phones. When it tightened phone standards in March 2026, it said devices already in use remain legal, as Capital FM reported.

To check a particular phone:

  1. Read the model code from Settings, About phone and search for it in the Authority's list of type-approved equipment.
  2. Dial *#06#, then send the IMEI by SMS to 1555. The free reply confirms the IMEI is valid and names the model it belongs to. It does not tell you about type approval. Our IMEI guide walks through the reply.
  3. Buy from a shop that gives you a receipt with the IMEI on it and a written warranty.

Google apps

Google keeps a public list of phones certified to run the Play Store. On 10 September 2026 it held one Calus phone, the Note 16 Pro, and no 17 Pro Max. Google supports only certified devices, so an uncertified phone can run into trouble with Play Store updates, banking apps and Google Pay. You can check before paying: open the Play Store, tap your profile, then Settings, About, and look for "Play Protect certification".

Should you buy one?

If you want a big screen for around KSh 12,000 and you accept the unknowns, the Calus delivers a big screen. The problem sits everywhere else: no named processor, no confirmed Play certification, no service centre we could find in Kenya, and a resale price that drops fast.

For a little more, named-brand phones remove those questions. On 11 September 2026 Phones & Tablets Kenya listed the Xiaomi Redmi 13C (4GB/128GB) at KSh 14,000 and the Tecno Spark 20 (128GB) at KSh 15,000. Both come with a known chip, Google certification and parts that repair shops across Kenya stock. Our budget phone guide compares more options at that price, and how to spot a fake phone covers the checks for any handset that looks like something it is not.

Selling one

Call it a Calus in your listing. Write the model code from Settings in the title, give the RAM and storage the phone reports, and add the colour. Calling it an iPhone, or "IP 17" on its own, misleads buyers, and they find out the moment they pick it up. Price it below the cheapest new listing on Jumia or Kilimall: a buyer who can get a sealed one for KSh 11,900 will not pay that for yours.

Selling a Calus or any other phone?

List your phone for free

Frequently asked questions

Is the Calus 17 Pro Max an iPhone? No. It is an Android phone from a Shenzhen company, styled after the iPhone 17 Pro Max. It cannot run iOS or iPhone apps.

How much is the Calus 17 Pro Max in Kenya? New, KSh 11,900 to 15,000 on Jumia and Kilimall in September 2026. Smaller-storage versions sold as "17 Pro Max" start at about KSh 10,000.

Is Calus banned in Kenya? Calus is not among the 21 brands the Communications Authority named in February 2026, and ten Calus models appear on its August 2026 list of approved devices. None of those ten is the 17 Pro Max, so check the model code of the phone you are buying against the Authority's list.

Brian Otieno

Brian Otieno

Tech Writer · Nairobi, Kenya

Brian Otieno is a Nairobi-based technology writer who has covered Kenya's mobile market for the better part of a decade, from entry-level feature phones to the latest Android and iPhone flagships. He reviews handsets, tracks live pricing across Nairobi's phone hubs, and writes practical buying and selling guides for Kenyan shoppers. He has hands-on experience with M-Pesa workflows, network unlocking, IMEI checks and the second-hand resale scene.